DUI in Florida - St Petersburg Criminal Defense Lawyer

DUI in Florida

| No Comments | No TrackBacks

Just this weekend a man lost his job because he got arrested for DUI right near his home in Tampa.  That man happened to be Matt McCoy, a 26 year old 3rd string linebacker for the Tampa Bay Buccaneers.  As McCoy is learning, DUIs can be very expensive.  Besides losing his job, McCoy faces monetary fines, higher insurance rates, possible jail time, and loss of license.  He refused to submit to the breathalyzer. 

For a first DUI the penalties are as follows:  Not less than $500, or more than $1,000. With Blood/Breath Alcohol Level (BAL) of .15 or higher or minor in the vehicle: Not less than $1,000, or more than $2,000.  Mandatory 50 hours of community service or additional fine of $10 for each hour of community service required.  The possibility for jail time is real.  For a first DUI the penalty is not more than 6 months. With BAL of .15 or higher or minor in the vehicle: Not more than 9 months.

The vehicle which was operated in the course of the DUI may be impounded as well.  The car may be impounded for up to 10 days. 

Any person who causes property damage or personal injury to another while driving under the influence is guilty of a First Degree Misdemeanor (not more than $1,000 fine or 1-year imprisonment).   

Any person who causes serious bodily injury while driving under the influence is guilty of a Third Degree Felony (not more than $5,000 fine and/or 5 years imprisonment) or if habitual/violent felony offender as provided in s. 775.084, F.S.

Florida DUI convictions are serious and can have lasting personal consequences.  It's crucial to hire a seasoned trial lawyer with DUI experience.

 


 

No TrackBacks

TrackBack URL: http://flanagandefense.com/cgi-bin/mt/mt-tb.cgi/20

Leave a comment